Author Topic: Dazed & Confused (long Post)  (Read 3710 times)

Offline BkoolB3

Dazed & Confused (long Post)
« on: August 24, 2003, 11:10:19 AM »
Hey everybody! I'm kind of a newbie here to this forum & I was hoping to get some opinions from you. I have owned mostly watercooled VW's but I have owned a 68 Beetle & a 74 914 2.0L. Out of all the VW's I've owned, I miss the Beetle & the 914 the most, especially the 914. So, I'm finally fed up with the watercooled scene, too many opinionated dumbass kids who refuse to admit where their VW roots are. In the past 2 years, my wife has begun to notice that we spend more time checking out the aircooled cars at the VW shows & not much time looking at the watercooled. I suppose one eventually grows up & starts a different childhood.
After an informative visit to Airspeed last week (many thanks to both Jim & Geoff!) I came away with the decision that I am going to start sourcing engine parts in the next 2 months & I hopefully will get somewhat of a start to building my engine. The basic plan is to start building the engine (hopefully with some good suggestions from the people here) & at the same time keep an eye out for a half decent car or shell, preferably a late type 1, early would be nice, but what ever comes up within budget.