Author Topic: 67 Beetle  (Read 7491 times)

Offline tanman

• http://
67 Beetle
« on: February 14, 2006, 08:01:09 PM »
hey guys. i just bought my first VW about 4 days ago. its a 1967 beetle, that needs some work still. the car sat around for about 20 years, then someone bought it and did a bunch of body work on it and put a 73 engine in it. it still needs a lot of the little details to be worked out. anyway, i pushed it home (the seller was right down the street) and started working on it. after a new fuel pump it started right up and runs / idles great. sounds beautiful... im new to these cars but im loving them already. im pretty much new to cars in general, doing my own work on them. i decided on a VW because i want to learn as much as possible and ive heard these are the best / simpleist engines to learn on. ANYWAY - its got flared fiberglass fenders that im not too sure about...

the past few days ive been doing wiring, and its a bitch. i dont know anything about this, but after a couple of days and a bunch of busted fuses, everything except the brake lights is working (it was a hassle cause of the fiberglass fenders... nothing was grounded properly). anyway for some reason the emergency flashers work but now the signals wont work on their own... so im going to have to look into that and the brake lights tonight. im also going to try to figure out whats wrong with the front end (lots of play horizontally, i hear it might be torsion bars), put in a new clutch cable and a new emergency brake cable... and see why there is so much play on the stickshift (ive heard it might be a plastic washer sort of thing rotted out).