Author Topic: to cut or not to cut  (Read 5294 times)

Offline 52 split

to cut or not to cut
« on: November 06, 2008, 03:34:20 AM »
hello all , newbie here on site, would like some thoughts on cutting in a three fold top into an early 52 crouch cooler,this car is # matching,the car is ready for paint, the thing is , metal has been replaced in the usual places, front fire wall, heater channels, rear &front  aprons with german metal as much as possible. :-\would this ruin or help a future sale, does any one know a good installer and where i could get a correct three fold top? . thanx

Offline owdlvr

• Dave Hord
    • Classic Car Adventures
Re: to cut or not to cut
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 09:14:40 AM »
You've got a numbers matching vehicle, and you want to cut in a top?

From my perspective, that is a definite turn off towards the value of a future sale. For what it's worth, I say don't do it....

-Dave
--
'71 Type 1 - Rally Car Project
'75 Type 1 - Heirloom
'95 F150 - Unfortunate daily driver...

Offline James Buchan

« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 09:57:36 AM »
I agree dont cut it!

Offline Lanny

« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2008, 09:58:42 AM »
From personal experience, the sunroof will add value to the car. I have yet to see a genuine -55 sunroof car(of the many I've worked on), 90% are spliced anyhow.

Offline slammedbus

• Check us out on Facebook
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2008, 11:10:51 AM »
good call Lanny. I will smite the others for you
Wreck Amended Restorations

Honest work for honest rates. Done by people that are just as excited to see your dream hit the road as you are.

Offline dods1600

• http://
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2008, 02:38:46 PM »
How can you tell if the car has been spliced with a rag top?
I drive a fat chick

-Tristan

Offline notchback

« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2008, 03:58:38 PM »
Go ahead and cut away I agree with Lanny
Bruce McCrindle
AIRCOOLED WERKS

New phone number above