Author Topic: Backfiring, Ect  (Read 1646 times)

Offline tanman

• http://
Backfiring, Ect
« on: April 29, 2006, 10:52:11 AM »
hey, my 67 beetle is running a little rough. ive pretty much had to re-do everythign on this car except for the body, so the engine work is coming, i know it. i tried to set the valve gaps and found out that two of the intake valves will not open at all, at any point. when i tried to fix this, i started to strip the screws they were so tight... so i decided to leave it for now. if a mechanic cant fix this, i assume i will need a new head or rocker assembly or whatever its called (im a newbie). will this fix my problem? it seems to be running really wussy too, and it backfires quite a bit unless i keep the revs a bit higher than normal. im just wondering if this is the problem or if im going to need something else, a whole new engine, ect.
thanks!
ugh its so close to being done!
also... anyone know a body shop or some place that will put in seals for one piece windows? (car came with them, not my choice)
tanner

Offline BUSDADDY

• Like potato chips, you can't have just one
Backfiring, Ect
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 02:18:17 PM »
If by won't open at all you mean the valve adjuster jam nuts are too tight to loosen and are stripping then it's an easy fix, mr. vice grip is a willing helper and I'm sure you can get new nuts at airspeed. At the very worst you will need another used rocker assy., easy to find. You will want to deal with that soon as tight valves lead to burnt valves which leads to engine out and heads off.

If you mean the valves themselves are not moving better check your sump screen for the missing parts of your cam and lifters, rev up the checkbook.