Author Topic: Crank recommendations.  (Read 4704 times)

Offline kirin

Crank recommendations.
« on: February 28, 2009, 06:44:25 PM »
Hey Guys,
Just curious if anybody has a good recommendation on where I should get a crankshaft for my 2332 build. I have some big heads lying around that I picked up when Airspeed was selling. I'm sure there is a difference between say a Forged CIP crank and a Gene Berg one. Any reasoning to go chevy journals VS VW? I want it to last a while and I will drive the balls off it so I much rather pay more now rather then later. Cheers.
If more power is better. Then too much is just enough.
Why do it once when you can do it thrice?

Offline egspot

• http://www.cardomain.com/id/egspot
Re: Crank recommendations.
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2009, 08:51:40 PM »
As you kow , I am not an expert but injuries not withstanding I have one built by a buider and i studied the process.

I believe that Chevy journals do not require as much clearance as VW jounals would. That beign said, if you have the money buy a new block already tapped, cleared and opened for your application, do it. It will save you on machining and clearing.

Do not hoid back on your cam, get one that would match what you want the engine for.

Remember the weakest link is the weakest link.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2009, 10:07:54 PM by egspot »

Offline owdlvr

• Dave Hord
    • Classic Car Adventures
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2009, 08:56:22 PM »
I've got this crank in my garage, happy to take photos if anyone wants. I'm in Squamish, so unless you're passing through it's not exactly convenient to check it out in person!

http://www.cip1.ca/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=C13-8120

-Dave
--
'71 Type 1 - Rally Car Project
'75 Type 1 - Heirloom
'95 F150 - Unfortunate daily driver...

Offline Bubba

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2009, 09:07:45 PM »